

Comhairle Contae Ros Comáin Roscommon County Council



# COUNTY OF ROSCOMMON ROAD TRAFFIC DRAFT SPECIAL SPEED LIMIT BYE-LAWS 2024

# INTRODUCTION

**Roscommon County Council** in exercise of the powers conferred on them by Section 9 of the Road Traffic Act 2004 (No. 44 of 2004) as amended and with the consent of the Transport Infrastructure Ireland (TII), in respect of special speed limits on local roads, and having given notice to the Commissioner of An Garda Síochána, hereby make the following bye-laws in respect of the area comprising the administrative area of the County of Roscommon.

## Citation

These bye-laws may be cited as County of Roscommon Road Traffic Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws, 2024.

## Commencement

These bye-laws shall come into operation on the 30<sup>th</sup> day of November 2024

## Interpretation

In these bye-laws:

"the Act of 1993" means the Roads Act 1993 (No. 14 of 1993);

"the Act of 2001" means the Local Government Act 2001 (No.37 of 2001);

"the Act of 2004" means the Road Traffic Act 2004 (No. 44 of 2004);

"the Act of 2024" means the Road Traffic Act 2024 (No 10 of 2024)

"built-up area" has the meaning assigned to it by the Act of 2004;

"built-up area speed limit" has the meaning assigned to it by Section 5 of the Act of 2004;

"motorway" has the meaning assigned to it by the Act of 1993;

"national road" has the meaning assigned to it by the Act of 1993;

"regional road" has the meaning assigned to it by the Act of 1993;

"road" means a public road as defined in the Act of 1993;

"drawing" means the drawings attached hereto;

"special speed limits" have the meaning assigned to them by Section 9 of the Act of 2004.

# Drawings

The Special Speed Limits made by these Bye-Laws are detailed in the maps listed below in Appendix 1.

The built-up Area speed limits apply to the town of Boyle. Boundaries of same are shown coloured brown on the relevant drawings.

The Special Limits, as prescribed by these Bye-Laws, are indicated as follows:

60 kph Special Speed Limit

80 kph Special Speed Limit

The default speed limit will apply in all cases not regulated by these County of Roscommon Road Traffic Special Speed Limit Bye-Laws 2024 or by the County Roscommon Road Traffic (Special Speed Limits Regional and Local Roads) Bye-Laws 2020. The applicable default speed limits are specified in the Road Traffic Act 2004 as amended by the Road Traffic Act 2024 (subject to the commencement of the relevant Section of the Act specifying the revised default speed limit). On commencement, the default speed limit on Rural Local Roads will be 60km/h.

## Exceptions

There shall be excepted from the special speed limits prescribed in the Drawings to these Bye-Laws and from the built-up area speed limit for the following: -

- a) Ambulances;
- b) Fire brigade vehicles, and
- c) Vehicles used by members of An Garda Síochána in the performance of their duties as such members.

## Appendix 1:

Appendix 1 includes all drawings where special speed limits are prescribed;

RS-2024-SSL\_COVER SHEET RS-2024-SSL\_L-1244-0-01 A-REV01 RS-2024-SSL\_L-1244-0-01 B-REV01 RS-2024-SSL\_L-1244-0-01 C-REV01 RS-2024-SSL-BOYLE-13-REV01

# Revocations

The following Bye-Laws from Schedule 5 and Schedule 6 of the County Roscommon Road Traffic (Special Speed Limits Regional and Local Roads) Bye-Laws 2020, are hereby revoked with effect from the **30**<sup>th</sup> **day of November 2024.** 

| Location             | Schedule 5   |
|----------------------|--|
| Athleague            | 2(c)   |
| Athlone Environs     | 3 (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (j), (k), (l), (m), (n), |
| Ballaghaderreen      | 4 (e), (f), (g), (h), (i)  |
| Ballinasloe Environs | 6 (e)  |
| Ballinlough          | 7 (a), (b)   |
| Ballyfarnon          | 9 c)   |
| Boyle                | 13 (d), (e), (f), (i), (k), (l)                                    |
| Breedoge             | 14 (b), (c), (d)   |
| Castlerea            | 18 (c), (d), (e), (g),   |
| Cortober             | 22 (a)   |
| Croghan              | 23 (a)   |
| Elphin               | 28 (d), (e), (f), (g)  |
| Frenchpark           | 30 (b), (c), (d), (e),   |
| Gortaganny           | 32 (b), (c), (d), (e)  |
| Keadue               | 34 (c)   |
| Knockcroghery        | 37 (a), (b), (c)   |
| Lisacul              | 40 (c)   |
| Mount Talbot         | 43 (a), (b)  |
| Roosky               | 46 (b)   |
| Roscommon            | 47 (a), (b), (c), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m), (n) |
| Strokestown          | 50 (a)   |
| Taughmaconnell       | 51 (a), (b)  |
| Termonbarry          | 52 (a)   |
| Location             | Schedule 6   |
| Boyle                | 13 (a), (b), (c)   |

Made and adopted under the Common Seal of ROSCOMMON COUNTY COUNCIL on the **25th** November **2024** 

Present when the Common Seal of the County Council of the County of Roscommon was affixed hereto: -

Director of Services

Nominated Employee.

Date: